How to Become a Process Server in Tennessee

Updated on

There are no licensing or registration requirements to become a process server in Tennessee. Anyone over the age of eighteen, who is not a party to the case, may serve civil process.

If you want to start your own process server business and work for yourself, it’s as simple as satisfying your local small business requirements and finding your first few clients.

Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure

§ 4.01. Summons; Issuance; By Whom Served

  • Upon the filing of the complaint the clerk of the court wherein the complaint is filed shall forthwith issue the required summons and cause it, with necessary copies of the complaint and summons, to be delivered for service to any person authorized to serve process. This person shall serve the summons, and the return endorsed thereon shall be proof of the time and manner of service. A summons may be issued for service in any county against any defendant, and separate or additional summonses may be issued against any defendant upon request of plaintiff. Nothing in this rule shall affect existing laws with respect to venue.
  • A summons and complaint may be served by any person who is not a party and is not less than 18 years of age. The process server must be identified by name and address on the return.

Legal Forms for Tennessee Process Servers

Download free legal forms for process servers from the Tennessee Administrative Office of the Courts.

Want to Learn More?

Are you interested in becoming a self-employed process server?

Want to learn the secrets to making $200 a day (or more) with your own home-based business?

Checkout my comprehensive guide available exclusively on Amazon in paperback and Kindle edition. It's helped hundreds of people like you start and grow their own business.

Click here to learn more →