A license isn’t required to become a process server in South Carolina. Any adult over the age of eighteen, who is not a party to the case, may serve civil process.
If you want to start a process server business and work for yourself, it’s as simple as meeting any local small business requirements and finding your first few clients.
Let’s take a closer look:
Rule 4. Process
By whom served.
Service of summons may be made by the sheriff, his deputy, or by any other person not less than eighteen (18) years of age, not an attorney in or a party to the action. Service of all other process shall be made by the sheriff or his deputy or any other duly constituted law enforcement officer or by any person designated by the court who is not less than eighteen (18) years of age and not an attorney in or a party to the action, except that a subpoena may be served as provided in Rule 45. (Amended effective May 1, 1986)
Rule 45. Subpoena
A subpoena may be served by any person who is not a party and is not less than 18 years of age. Service of a subpoena upon a person named therein shall be made by delivering a copy thereof to such person and, if the person’s attendance is commanded, by tendering to that person the fees for one day’s attendance of $25.00 and the mileage allowed by law for official travel of State officers and employees. When the subpoena is issued on behalf of the State of South Carolina or an officer or agency thereof, fees and mileage need not be tendered. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, prior notice in writing of any commanded production of documents and things or inspection of premises before trial shall be served on each party in the manner prescribed by Rule 5(b) at least 10 days before the time specified for compliance.
Legal Forms for Process Servers in South Carolina
Download free legal forms for process servers from the South Carolina Judicial Department.