How to Become a Process Server in Oregon

2 Min. Read / Updated on March 5th, 2021

A license or professional registration is not required to become a process server in Oregon.

Any individual, age eighteen or older, who is not a party to the case, may serve civil process.

There’s no government-imposed barrier of entry if you want to work as a process server or start your own business.

Print up some business cards, make a professional website, and find your first client.

Take a look at Rule 7 from the Oregon Rules of Civil Procedure:

E. By Whom Served; Compensation.

A summons may be served by any competent person 18 years of age or older who is a resident of the state where service is made or of this state and is not a party to the action nor, except as provided in ORS 180.260, an officer, director, or employee of, nor attorney for, any party, corporate or otherwise. However, service pursuant to subparagraph D(2)(d)(i) of this rule may be made by an attorney for any party. Compensation to a sheriff or a sheriff’s deputy in this state who serves a summons shall be prescribed by statute or rule. If any other person serves the summons, a reasonable fee may be paid for service. This compensation shall be part of disbursements and shall be recovered as provided in Rule 68.

For more information about how to become a process server in Oregon, visit the Oregon Judicial Department or contact the Oregon Association of Process Servers.

Free Legal Forms for Oregon Process Servers

Download free legal forms from the Oregon State Court.

Hungry for More?

Are you interested in becoming a self-employed process server?

Do you want to learn proven strategies for making $200+ a day with your own home-based business?

Checkout my comprehensive guide available exclusively on Amazon in both paperback and Kindle editions. It's helped hundreds of folks just like you get started in this industry.

Read the reviews →

Promote your process server business with a professional website.